Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Oddly, this idea entered my mind, and changed my simplistic plan for this week’s WILS. In prepping a post that I’m working on to wrap up the year, I thought of a friend, and the work that she gave me that is the blueprint of what I’m working on in many ways.

I also thought of another friend, and the dynamic of the relationship as it relates to both of these two. One is a longtime friend, easily one of my best friends, that we hit it off from the beginning, yet the time of our friendship has easily helped further develop the quality of said relationship. This relationship, easily would follow the standard progression of the time and quality strengthening over the years. We can speak about anything, and she easily knows everything about me.

In thinking of my aforementioned friend, I can say that we have known each other for some time, yet the quality of said relationship, is amazingly unrelated to the time we’ve known each other. Though strong, the relationship is diametrically different, where we would seek each other out, and offer support, advice, and ideas to each other. Amazingly, this year, our paths have crossed each other on the extreme sides of this country, both in person and in communication. But more importantly, they crossed when they needed too. Sharing messages, when they were needed, even stories, or parables even, making us take a look at our decisions, and deciding whether the paths in our respective lives truly matched up to our wants and needs, rather than settling for something that may be before us. A poignant post we discussed while I sat happy and weary in Sacramento, and she, based in Los Angeles, was on the line with me in Atlanta.

“Everything that happens once can never happen again. But everything that happens twice will surely happen a third time.” – Paulo Coelho
Though, I have no plan to explain our conversation, my posting, and her want to discuss, and the continuation of our discussion, like normal, occurred at the right time. When we needed these messages for ourselves.

As I ran this morning, the thoughts of these friends and that dynamic of quantity and quality permeated my thoughts. And, more than simply posting what I had previously thought of, I thought I would share this.

The manuscript Blue Lines is the fictional coming of age narrative of a young California woman Key Yemaya Walker, and her 2 year growing journey through school, love, and life period piece, written by Kenneth Suffern, Jr., taking place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill between the years of 1997 – 1998. Loosely based on true events, and experiences during that time, told through the eyes and voice of the main female protagonist, a freshman first attending the school.

