Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This poem was inspired by the action a woman makes in giving up her name to become one through marriage.

11/16/14

Did it occur to me,
what you gave up,
the representation of your past,
the echo of your lineage,
your future…
all to become me,
in an ages old custom,
to become me,
free…
I unconsciously offer,
my life, my being, my future,
my love…
for you to graduate from,
your past to become,
our future…
life reborn,
my gift to you,
because I am…my name,
and I offer that to you.
IMG_9244
The manuscript Blue Lines is the fictional coming of age narrative of a young California woman Key Yemaya Walker, and her 2 year growing journey through school, love, and life period piece, written by Kenneth Suffern, Jr., taking place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill between the years of 1997 – 1998. Loosely based on true events, and experiences during that time, told through the eyes and voice of the main female protagonist, a freshman first attending the school.

