Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10/19/15
Was it your smile that got me?
That fateful day when our eyes met,
The beginning of us, with years to develop,
Moving forward in an unknown direction,
A future California dream,

When did everything change,
Separated by the United States,
Our affection matured by travel and distance,
To lead us to this day,
The Californian dream,

How did I finally know,
We set ourselves up for a challenge,
What has become so important now,
Your scent, your touch…
My Californian dream,

Why did I say these things,
I found my heart in front of me,
Where I did not expect it to be,
I asked for your…
Your Californian dream,

Then I learned to say the three hardest words,
I and,
Love and,
You.
  
The manuscript Blue Lines is the fictional coming of age narrative of a young California woman Key Yemaya Walker, and her 2 year growing journey through school, love, and life period piece, written by Kenneth Suffern, Jr., taking place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill between the years of 1997 – 1998. Loosely based on true events, and experiences during that time, told through the eyes and voice of the main female protagonist, a freshman first attending the school.

