Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is a poem from the manuscript Blue Lines, by the antagonist.

you’ve done it before, why don’t you do it again,
you’ve done it before, why don’t you do it again,
I look into your face then I’m drifting,
Sifting,
asking questions of why,
why did I die in your arms,
yet I live as a ghost,
you say him but in fact you love me,
but I love her,
asking questions of why,
you’ve done it before, why don’t you do it again…
why don’t you do it again,
what you bring into this world is my life,
why don’t you do it again,
my love for who,
why don’t you do it again,
loneliness and darkness is my,
life,
as I die in your arms, again,
save me is all I ask,
I die…again,
forgive my sin,
the wrong I want,
you give your life away again,
forgive my sin,
because,
you did it before why don’t do it again.”
UNCThe manuscript Blue Lines is the fictional coming of age narrative of a young California woman Key Yemaya Walker, and her 2 year growing journey through school, love, and life period piece, written by Kenneth Suffern, Jr., taking place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill between the years of 1997 – 1998. Loosely based on true events, and experiences during that time, told through the eyes and voice of the main female protagonist, a freshman first attending the school.

