Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was en route to see my girlfriend (who also shares my feelings, if not more for Prince) when I learned the news. Over the last two months I had seen him thrice, she twice in the same week, and once together.
I had a conversation with a friend, after, stating how Prince was something that was mine. From growing up in 80’s and having his vinyl to his expanding catalogue in the 90’s. He was someone that I identified growing up, different eras, and special experiences with. Later in life, I was able to share these with others, but that experience was solely based on that affectation in my life. Until I see you again.
  
The manuscript Blue Lines is the fictional coming of age narrative of a young California woman Key Yemaya Walker, and her 2 year growing journey through school, love, and life period piece, written by Kenneth Suffern, Jr., taking place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill between the years of 1997 – 1998. Loosely based on true events, and experiences during that time, told through the eyes and voice of the main female protagonist, a freshman first attending the school.

