Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7/11/16
Did my life matter,
It mattered to my Black Father,
It mattered to my Brown Mother,
It mattered to my Sister,
It mattered to my Brother,
It matter to my Japanese niece,
It mattered to my lover,
It mattered to my Blue cousin,
It mattered to my Black employer,
It mattered to my unborn child,

It didn’t matter to your bullets,
It didn’t matter to your noose,
It didn’t matter to your harsh words,
It didn’t matter to my compliance,
It didn’t matter to your choke hold,
It didn’t matter to your tasers,

In the end,
My Mother lost a Son,
My Father lost a Son,
My Brother lost a Brother,
My Sister lost a Brother,
My Niece lost an Uncle,
My Woman lost her Man,
My Cousin lost a Cousin,
My Employer lost a Light,
My Child lost a Father…and maybe a LIFE,

Children of a lesser God,

Now I am a hashtag,
Now I’m just a story,
Now I’m just a waste,
A memory for now, until the next life you take,
Black Lives Matter…
I do not welcome Black Death…

The manuscript Blue Lines is the fictional coming of age narrative of a young California woman Key Yemaya Walker, and her 2 year growing journey through school, love, and life period piece, written by Kenneth Suffern, Jr., taking place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill between the years of 1997 – 1998. Loosely based on true events, and experiences during that time, told through the eyes and voice of the main female protagonist, a freshman first attending the school

